Annandale Virginia


Fairfax County Is organized under the Urban County Executive form of government, as defined by Virginia law. The Board of Supervisors, composed of ten members serving four year terms, is the legislative body of the County and Is charged with the responsibility of making policy within the framework of the Virginia Constitution and Code. Nine members are elected from the districts in which they reside, while the chairman is elected at large by residents of the entire county.

The Board of Supervisors hires a County Executive to act as the administrative head of the county. He carries out policy decisions made by the Board, directs business procedures and recommends officers and personnel to be appointed by the Board of Supervisors.

In Virginia all cities are independent and completely separate from the counties which may surround them. Therefore, the cities of Falls Church, Alexandria, and Fairfax assume the responsibility of all services to their citizens who are not subject to taxation by Fairfax County. However, residents of incorporated towns located within the County boundaries (Vienna, Herndon, Clifton) are subject to County taxes and are entitled to receive full County services.

Because postal zones do not coincide with political boundaries, there are many thousands of County residents who have Alexandria, Falls Church or Fairfax addresses who do not reside in these cities. For General County Information call 324-3185.


Board Chairman Mason District Braddock District
Katherine Hanley
Fairfax County Govt. Cntr.
12000 Government Cntr. Pkwy., #530
Fairtax, VA 22035-0071
Penelope Gross
Mason Government Center
6507 Columbia Pike
Annandale, VA 22003
Sharon Bulova
4414 Holborn Avenue
Annandale, VA 22003



Local governments derive their powers from laws enacted by the Virginia General Assembly. The General Assembly meets every year in Richmond in January - February for 60 days or less. Special sessions may be called by the Governor to deal with urgent public policy decisions. Virginia has a biennial budget which is passed by the General Assembly in even numbered years and amended in odd numbered years. The Virginia constitution requires that the budget be balanced.

Virginia's top elected officials through 2006 are:

Governor: Mark R. Warner
Lt. Governor: Tim Kaine
Attorney General: Jerry Kilgore

Basically, Annandale is represented in the General Assembly by two State Senators and two members of the House of Delegates. Generally speaking, Senator Leslie Byrne and Delegate Bob Harris represent the area north of Little River Turnpike and Senator Richard Saslaw and Delegate Alan Mayer represent the area south of Little River Turnpike. During the period when the General Assembly is not In session, they serve on special legislative study committees and are available to provide constituent services.

Senator Leslie Byrne
P.O. Box 2612
Falls Church, VA 22042
(703) 836-9015    
Delegate Vivian E. Watts
8717 Mary Lee Lane
Annandale, Va. 22003
(703) 978-2989
Senator Richard L. Saslaw
P.O. Box 1856
Springfield, VA 22151
(703) 978-0200    
Delegate Chap Petersen
P.O. Box 887
Fairfax, VA 22030
(703) 591-5133